Brass & Brahms - Hartford Symphony OrchestraNovember 2 - November 4

Part of the 2018-2019 Masterworks Series. Our fabulous horn section takes the spotlight with Schumann’s lively and compelling Concertstück for Four Horns. Written in 1849, it is an exceptional masterpiece for the instrument. Of Brahms’ Symphony No. 3, written when he was a carefree 50-year-old bachelor, the music critic Eduard Hanslick said, “… the Third strikes me as being artistically the most nearly perfect.”

Nielsen Little Suite, Op. 1
Schumann Concertstück for Four Horns in F Major, Op. 86 

Brahms Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90

Thomas Wilkins conductor
Barbara Hill HSO principal horn
John Michael Adair HSO assistant principal horn
Hilary Ledebuhr HSO horn
Nick Rubenstein HSO horn

Maxwell M. & Ruth R. Belding Theater